Feb 22, 2024  
2018-2019 Undergraduate Catalog 
2018-2019 Undergraduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]


University Governance and Administration

The University is governed by a board of 13 members, six selected by the state Legislature and seven self-perpetuating life members, in accord with the will of Thomas Green Clemson. The Board of Trustees is primarily responsible for adopting the long-range objectives of the University and the basic policies for achieving them; providing policy instruction for long-range planning; adopting the statutes of the University; electing the president of the University; employing the secretary of the board; maintaining ownership of University assets; and overseeing the evaluation of the University.

The president is the chief executive officer of the University, providing leadership to all phases of University planning, coordinating the operations of all units of the University, carrying out major University public relations functions, evaluating the results of University plans, and appointing personnel who report to the president. The day-to-day operations of the University are administered by the president and executive officers for advancement, public service and agriculture, student affairs, and research and economic development.

The provost and vice president for academic affairs is the chief academic officer of the University. The provost is responsible directly to the president for all academic matters and has administrative jurisdiction over teaching and computing services. Vice provosts assist in administering and performing duties in coordinating graduate and undergraduate curricula; supervising computer information services, the libraries, scholarship and award programs; and other duties assigned by the provost.

Academic deans are the chief administrative officers of their individual colleges and report directly to the provost. They provide leadership in formulating and carrying out educational policy; review and make recommendations on personnel matters; and carry out and administer the academic and financial affairs of their colleges.

Board of Trustees

E. Smyth McKissick III, Greenville, SC, Chair
Dr. Ronald D. Lee, Aiken, SC, Vice Chair
David E. Dukes, Columbia, SC
Dr. Louis B. Lynn, Columbia, SC
Patricia H. McAbee, Greenville, SC
John N. McCarter Jr., Columbia, SC
Robert L. Peeler, Lexington, SC
Cheri M. Phyfer, Cleveland, OH
Mark S. Richardson, Charlotte, NC
William C. Smith Jr., Columbia, SC
Joseph D. Swann, Greenville, SC
Kim A. Wilkerson, Cayce, SC
David H. Wilkins, Greenville, SC

Trustees Emeriti

Louis P. Batson Jr., Greenville, SC
Dr. John J. Britton, Sumter, SC
Dr. Fletcher C. Derrick Jr., Charleston, SC
Leon J. Hendrix Jr., Kiawah Island, SC
Harold D. Kingsmore, Clemson, SC
Thomas B. McTeer Jr., Columbia, SC
Allen P. Wood, Florence, SC


James P. Clements, PhD

Vice Presidents

Robert H. Jones, PhD, Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost
Maxwell Allen, Vice President and Chief of Staff
George R. Askew, PhD, Vice President for Public Service and Agriculture
Brett A. Dalton, MA, Executive Vice President for Finance and Operations
Almeda R. Jacks, PhD, Vice President for Student Affairs
Tanju Karanfil, PhD, Vice President for Research
Russell Kaurloto, Vice President and CIO, Clemson Computing and Information Technology
Mark Land, Vice President for University Relations
Angie Leidinger, Vice President for External Affairs and Executive Secretary to the Board of Trustees
Brian O’Rourke, Vice President for Alumni and Development

Chief Diversity Officer

Lee A. Gill, JD

General Counsel

W.C. Hood Jr., JD

Director of Athletics

Daniel Radakovich Jr., MBA

Academic Affairs

E.R. “Randy” Collins Jr., PhD, Associate Vice President for Charleston
Christopher N. Cox, EdD, Dean of Libraries
Ellen Granberg, PhD, Senior Associate Provost
John D. Griffin, PhD, Associate Provost and Dean of Undergraduate Studies
Shontavia Johnson, JD, Associate Vice President for Academic Partnerships and Innovation
Tanju Karanfil, PhD, Vice President for Research
Russell Kaurloto, Vice President for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer (CIO)
Jeremy King, PhD, Associate Provost for Institutional Effectiveness
Chuck Knepfle, Associate Vice President for Enrollment Management
William Lasser, Executive Director, Calhoun Honors College
Todd Marek, Executive Director, Watt Family Innovation Center
Sharon Nagy, PhD, Associate Provost for Global Engagement
Jason W. Osborne, PhD, Associate Provost and Dean of the Graduate School

Student Affairs

Almeda R. Jacks, PhD, Vice President for Student Affairs
George N. Smith, PhD, Associate Vice President for Student Affairs and Chief of Staff
Douglas A. Hallenbeck, PhD, Senior Associate Vice President for Student Affairs
L. Christopher Miller, JD, PhD, Associate Vice President and Dean of Students
Johnson W. Link, Associate Vice President for Emergency Management and Municipal Services
Greg Mullen, Interim Associate Vice President for Public Safety and Chief of Police

Collegiate Deans

Timothy Boosinger, PhD, Interim Dean, College of Agriculture, Forestry and Life Sciences
Richard E. Goodstein, PhD, Dean, College of Architecture, Arts and Humanities
Anand Gramopadhye, PhD, Dean, College of Engineering, Computing and Applied Sciences
Robert E. McCormick, PhD, Dean, College of Business
George J. Petersen, PhD, Dean, College of Education
Brett A. Wright, PhD, Dean, College of Behavioral, Social and Health Sciences
Cynthia Y. Young, PhD, Dean, College of Science

2017-2018 Board of Visitors

William L. Abrecrombie Jr., Greenville
Michael Allen, Greenville
Raymond H. Anderson Jr., North Charleston
Alvin N. Berry Sr., Peak
M. Pat Black, Jr. Cameron
James Bostic III, Franklin, TN
Tajh Boyd, Seneca
W. Phil Bradley, Johns Island
Julie Godshall Brown, Greenville
Thomas C. Brown, Greenville
Jenni Tindal Bryson, Greenville
Anne H. Bull, Lexington
Lance Burnett, Greenville
Jocelyn Caldwell, Columbia
Rick T. Caldwell II, Aiken
Scott Callison, Lexington
Jack W. Carter Jr., Columbia
Jan Childress, Greenville
Holly H. Cirrito, Chevy Chase, MD
Joanne Coggins, Simpsonville
Donna Collins, Florence
Manning Crapps, Lexington
Jim P. Creel Jr., Myrtle Beach
Barbara A. Cullum, Rock Hill
Ashley Cuttino, Greenville
Sam L. Dozier, Elgin
Edgar J. Duckworth, Atlanta, GA
Thad S. Dulin, Greenville
W. Kelly Durham, Clemson
Chuck Epps, Fort Mill
Nancy Furman, Greenville
Austin E. Gore, Aiken
Danny Gregg, Clemson
Teresa Haas, Aiken
J. Tim Hance, Columbia
Bret Harris, Lexington
Craig S. Heath, Aiken
Elizabeth T. Hendrix, Greenville
Ann W. Hunter, Greenwood
Kathy Hunter, Clemson
Heather Jones, Greenwood
Danny F. Kassis, Charleston
Christopher Koon, Columbia
Rick LaForge, St. Pete Beach, FL
Tracy Diane Lamb, Greenville
Tom B. LaRoche, Johns Island
Ronnie D. Lee, Aiken
David Lockwood III, Columbia
Luke Mabry, Aiken
Glenn S. McCarter, Huntersville, NC
Lauran McCarter, Hopkins
L. Scott Melzer, Greenville
Gregg F. Morton, Clemson
Bob M. Muldrow Jr., Myrtle Beach
David Murdaugh, Harrisburg, NC
Steve D. Odom, Columbia
James H. Owen Jr., Clover
Russell P. Parks, Easley
Joe M. Pazdan II, Greenville
Tim J. Reed, Greenville
Thomas Rhodes, Columbia
Robert Satcher, Columbia
Garrett Scott, Spartanburg
Ben Seabrook, Mt. Pleasant
David Seaver, Greenville
Bob N. Shepard, Charleston
Adrienne Sienkowski, Atlanta, GA
Greg C. Smith, Six Mile
Rilo Stephens, Atlanta, GA
Robbie E. Templeton Jr., Greenwood
Evans Tindal, Cheraw
Roger J. Troutman, Rock Hill
Jim Vaughn, Greenville
John A. Wells Jr., Columbia
Robert Wilkins, Greenville
Maggie K. Worsham, Clemson
Joy Yonce, Charleston