May 28, 2024  
2018-2019 Graduate Catalog 
2018-2019 Graduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]


University Governance and Administration

The University is governed by a board of 13 members, six selected by the state Legislature and seven self-perpetuating life members, in accord with the will of Thomas Green Clemson. The Board of Trustees is primarily responsible for adopting the long-range objectives of the University and the basic policies for achieving them; providing policy instruction for long-range planning; adopting the statutes of the University; electing the president of the University; employing the secretary of the board; maintaining ownership of University assets; and overseeing the evaluation of the University.

The president is the chief executive officer of the University, providing leadership to all phases of University planning, coordinating the operations of all units of the University, carrying out major University public relations functions, evaluating the results of University plans, and appointing personnel who report to the president. The day-to-day operations of the University are administered by the president and executive officers for advancement, public service and agriculture, student affairs, and research and economic development.

The provost and vice president for academic affairs is the chief academic officer of the University. The provost is responsible directly to the president for all academic matters and has administrative jurisdiction over teaching and computing services. Vice provosts assist in administering and performing duties in coordinating graduate and undergraduate curricula; supervising computer information services, the libraries, scholarship and award programs; and other duties assigned by the provost.

Academic deans are the chief administrative officers of their individual colleges and report directly to the provost. They provide leadership in formulating and carrying out educational policy; review and make recommendations on personnel matters; and carry out and administer the academic and financial affairs of their colleges.

Board of Trustees

E. Smyth McKissick III, Greenville, SC, Chair
John N. McCarter Jr., Columbia, SC, Vice Chair
David E. Dukes, Columbia, SC
Dr. Ronald D. Lee, Aiken, SC
Dr. Louis B. Lynn, Columbia, SC
Patricia H. McAbee, Greenville, SC
Robert L. Peeler, Lexington, SC
Cheri M. Phyfer, Cleveland, OH
Mark S. Richardson, Charlotte, NC
William C. Smith Jr., Columbia, SC
Joseph D. Swann, Greenville, SC
Kim A. Wilkerson, Cayce, SC
David H. Wilkins, Greenville, SC

Trustees Emeriti

Louis P. Batson Jr., Greenville, SC
Dr. John J. Britton, Sumter, SC
Dr. Fletcher C. Derrick Jr., Charleston, SC
Leon J. Hendrix Jr., Kiawah Island, SC
Harold D. Kingsmore, Clemson, SC
Thomas B. McTeer Jr., Columbia, SC
D. Leslie Tindal, Pinewood, SC
Allen P. Wood, Florence, SC


James P. Clements, PhD

Vice Presidents

Robert H. Jones, PhD, Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost
Maxwell Allen, Vice President and Chief of Staff
George R. Askew, PhD, Vice President for Public Service and Agriculture
Brett A. Dalton, MA, Executive Vice President for Finance and Operations
Almeda R. Jacks, PhD, Vice President for Student Affairs
Tanju Karanfil, PhD, Vice President for Research
Mark Land, Vice President for University Relations
Angie Leidinger, Vice President for External Affairs
Brian O’Rourke, Vice President for Alumni and Development

Chief Diversity Officer

Lee A. Gill, JD

General Counsel

W.C. Hood Jr., JD

Director of Athletics

Daniel Radakovich Jr., MBA

Academic Affairs

Jason W. Osborne, PhD, Associate Provost and Dean of the Graduate School
Jeremy King, PhD, Associate Provost for Institutional Effectiveness
Sharon Nagy, PhD, Vice Provost for Global Engagement
John D. Griffin, PhD, Associate Provost and Dean of Undergraduate Studies
Maggie Farrell, MLS, Dean of Libraries
Tanju Karanfil, PhD, Vice President for Research
William Lasser, Executive Director, Calhoun Honors College
Todd Marek, Executive Director, Watt Family Innovation Center

Student Affairs

Almeda R. Jacks, PhD, Vice President for Student Affairs
George N. Smith, PhD, Associate Vice President for Student Affairs and Chief of Staff
Douglas A. Hallenbeck, PhD, Senior Associate Vice President for Student Affairs
L. Christopher Miller, JD, PhD, Associate Vice President and Dean of Students
Johnson W. Link, Associate Vice President for Municipal Services

Collegiate Deans

George R. Askew, PhD, Dean, College of Agriculture, Forestry and Life Sciences
Richard E. Goodstein, PhD, Dean, College of Architecture, Arts and Humanities
Anand Gramopadhye, PhD, Dean, College of Engineering, Computing and Applied Sciences
Mark D. Leising, PhD, Interim Dean, College of Science
Robert E. McCormick, PhD, Dean, College of Business
George J. Peterson, PhD, Dean, College of Education
Brett A. Wright, PhD, Dean, College of Behavioral, Social and Health Sciences

2016-2017 Board of Visitors

William L. Abrecrombie Jr.,  Greenville
Raymond H. Anderson Jr., North Charleston
M. Brent Beason, Charlotte, NC
Alvin N. Berry Sr., Peak
M. Pat Black, Jr. Cameron
James Bostic III, Franklin, TN
Heyward C. Brabham, Columbia
W. Phil Bradley, Johns Island
Julie Godshall Brown, Greenville
Thomas C. Brown, Greenville
Jenni Tindal Bryson, Greenville
Anne H. Bull, Lexington
Rick T. Caldwell II, Aiken
Jack W. Carter Jr., Columbia
Jan Childress, Greenville
Holly H. Cirrito, Chevy Chase, MD
Joanne Coggins, Simpsonville
Donna Collins, Florence
Frank J. Cox, Clemson
Manning Crapps, Lexington
Jim P. Creel Jr., Myrtle Beach
Barbara A. Cullum, Rock Hill
Ashley Cuttino, Greenville
Woody Dantzler III, Fountain Inn
Sam L. Dozier, Elgin
Edgar J. Duckworth, Atlanta, GA
Thad S. Dulin, Greenville
W. Kelly Durham, Clemson
Chuck Epps, Fort Mill
Sam L. Erwin, Greenville
Austin E. Gore, Aiken
Buddy Gore, Murrells Inlet
Danny Gregg, Clemson
J. Tim Hance, Columbia
Bret Harris, Lexington
Craig S. Heath, Aiken
Elizabeth T. Hendrix, Greenville
Emory G. Hendrix Jr., Greenville
Ann W. Hunter, Greenwood
Danny F. Kassis, Charleston
Christopher Koon, Columbia
Rick LaForge, St. Pete Beach, FL
Tracy Diane Lamb, Greenville
Tom B. LaRoche, Johns Island
Ronnie D. Lee, Aiken
David Lockwood III, Columbia
Luke Mabry, Aiken
Glenn S. McCarter, Huntersville, NC
Lauran McCarter, Hopkins
L. Scott Melzer, Greenville
David L. Morrow, Myrtle Beach
Gregg F. Morton, Clemson
Bob M. Muldrow Jr., Myrtle Beach
David Murdaugh, Harrisburg, NC
Steve D. Odom, Columbia
James H. Owen Jr., Clover
Russell P. Parks, Easley
Joe M. Pazdan II, Greenville
Jason Puhlasky, Columbia
Tim J. Reed, Greenville
Thomas Rhodes, Columbia
Robert Satcher, Columbia
Garrett Scott, Spartanburg
Lynette Lewis Seaton, Southlake, TX
Bob N. Shepard, Charleston
Adrienne Sienkowski, Atlanta, GA
Greg C. Smith, Six Mile
Mike J. Spitzmiller, Greenville
Erin Swann, Greenville
Ted J. Swann, Clemson
Robbie E. Templeton Jr., Greenwood
Frank A. Townsend III, Aiken
Roger J. Troutman, Rock Hill
John A. Wells Jr., Columbia
Robin B. Welsh, Columbia
Robert Wilkins, Greenville
Maggie K. Worsham, Clemson