Nov 27, 2022  
2020-2021 Undergraduate Catalog 
2020-2021 Undergraduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]


University Governance and Administration

The University is governed by a board of 13 members, six selected by the state Legislature and seven self-perpetuating successor members, in accord with the will of Thomas Green Clemson. The Board of Trustees is primarily responsible for adopting the long-range objectives of the University and the basic policies for achieving them; providing policy instruction for long-range planning; adopting the statutes of the University; electing the president of the University; employing the secretary of the board; maintaining ownership of University assets; and overseeing the evaluation of the University.

The president is the chief executive officer of the University, providing leadership to all phases of University planning, coordinating the operations of all units of the University, carrying out major University public relations functions, evaluating the results of University plans, and appointing personnel who report to the president. The day-to-day operations of the University are administered by the president and executive officers for advancement, public service and agriculture, student affairs, and research and economic development.

The provost and executive vice president for academic affairs and provost is the chief academic officer of the University. The provost is responsible directly to the president for all academic matters and has administrative jurisdiction over teaching and computing services. Associate provosts assist in administering and performing duties in coordinating graduate and undergraduate curricula; supervising computer information services, the libraries, scholarship and award programs; and other duties assigned by the provost.

Academic deans are the chief administrative officers of their individual colleges and report directly to the provost. They provide leadership in formulating and carrying out educational policy; review and make recommendations on personnel matters; and carry out and administer the academic and financial affairs of their colleges.

Board of Trustees

E. Smyth McKissick III, Greenville, SC, Chair
Dr. Ronald D. Lee, Aiken, SC, Vice Chair
David E. Dukes, Columbia, SC
Dr. Louis B. Lynn, Columbia, SC
Patricia H. McAbee, Greenville, SC
John N. McCarter Jr., Columbia, SC
Robert L. Peeler, Lexington, SC
Cheri M. Phyfer, Cleveland, OH
Mark S. Richardson, Charleston, SC
William C. Smith Jr., Columbia, SC
Joseph D. Swann, Greenville, SC
Kim A. Wilkerson, Cayce, SC
David H. Wilkins, Greenville, SC

Trustees Emeriti

Dr. John J. Britton, Sumter, SC
Leon J. Hendrix Jr., Kiawah Island, SC
Harold D. Kingsmore, Clemson, SC
Thomas B. McTeer Jr., Columbia, SC
Allen P. Wood, Florence, SC


James P. Clements, PhD

Vice Presidents

Robert H. Jones, PhD, Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost
Maxwell Allen, Vice President and Chief of Staff
George R. Askew, PhD, Vice President for Public Service and Agriculture
Tanju Karanfil, PhD, Vice President for Research
Russell Kaurloto, Vice President and CIO, Clemson Computing and Information Technology
Mark Land, Vice President for University Relations
Angie Leidinger, Vice President for External Affairs
L. Christopher Miller, JD, PhD, Interim Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students
Brian O’Rourke, Vice President of Development and Alumni Relations
Anthony E. Wagner, Executive Vice President for Finance and Operations

Chief Diversity Officer

Lee A. Gill, JD, Chief Diversity Officer and Special Assistant to the President for Inclusive Excellence

General Counsel

W.C. Hood Jr., JD, General Counsel and Secretary to the Board of Trustees

Chief Human Resources Officer

Emily Watrous

Director of Athletics

Daniel Radakovich Jr., MBA

Academic Affairs

Carla Bennett, Associate Vice President for Academic Finance and Operations
E.R. “Randy” Collins Jr., PhD, Associate Vice President for Charleston
Christopher N. Cox, MLS, Dean of Libraries
David Fleming, PhD, Interim Associate Provost and Dean of the Graduate School
John D. Griffin, PhD, Associate Provost and Dean of Undergraduate Studies
Shontavia Johnson, JD, Associate Vice President for Entrepreneurship and Innovation
Tanju Karanfil, PhD, Vice President for Research
Russell Kaurloto, Vice President for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer (CIO)
Jeremy King, PhD, Associate Provost for Institutional Effectiveness
David Kuskowski, Associate Vice President for Enrollment Management
Phil Landreth, Assistant Vice President for Academic Operations
William Lasser, PhD, Executive Director, Calhoun Honors College
Amy Lawton-Rauh, PhD, Associate Provost for Faculty Affairs
Todd Marek, PhD, Executive Director, Watt Family Innovation Center
Sharon Nagy, PhD, Associate Provost for Global Engagement
Constancio Nakuma, PhD, Associate Provost for Academic Affairs

Student Affairs

L. Christopher Miller, JD, PhD, Interim Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students
George N. Smith, PhD, Associate Vice President for Student Affairs and Chief of Staff
Johnson W. Link, Associate Vice President for Emergency Management and Municipal Services
Greg Mullen, Interim Associate Vice President for Public Safety and Chief of Police

Collegiate Deans

Keith Belli, PhD, Dean, College of Agriculture, Forestry and Life Sciences
Anand Gramopadhye, PhD, Dean, College of Engineering, Computing and Applied Sciences
Leslie Hossfeld, PhD, Dean, College of Behavioral, Social and Health Sciences
George J. Petersen, PhD, Dean, College of Education
Nicholas Vazsonyi, PhD, Dean, College of Architecture, Arts and Humanities
Wendy York, MBA, Dean, Wilbur O. and Ann Powers College of Business
Cynthia Y. Young, PhD, Dean, College of Science

2019-2020 Board of Visitors

Roy Abrecrombie, Greenville
Michael Allen, Greenville
Ray Anderson Jr., North Charleston
Al Berry, Peak
Pat Black, Cameron
Stephanie Blanton, Charlotte, NC
James Bostic III, Franklin, TN
Tajh Boyd, Seneca
Phil Bradley, Johns Island
Julie Godshall Brown, Greenville
Lance Burnett, Greenville
Joni Byars, Greenville
Jocelyn Caldwell, Columbia
Rick Caldwell II, Aiken
Scott Callison, Lexington
Jack Carter, Columbia
Douglas Clamp, Pickens
Trish Clary, Central
Shaun Cranford, Columbia
Jim Creel, Myrtle Beach
Barbara Cullum, Rock Hill
Libby Dalton, Greenville
Angela Davis, Cary, NC
Susan Douglas, Greenville
Sam Dozier, West Columbia
Matt Dunbar, Greenville
Kelly Durham, Clemson
Charles Eldridge
Chuck Epps, Fort Mill
Freddy Faircloth IV, Rock Hill
Betsy Fauntleroy, Manakin Sabot, VA
Nancy Furman, Greenville
Kevin Garrison, Lexington
Scott Garvin, Columbia
Austin E. Gore, Aiken
Matt Gross, Anderson
Teresa Haas, Aiken
Tim Hance, Columbia
Craig S. Heath, Aiken
Warren Herndon, Lexington
Carlos Hill, Arlington, VA
Kathy Hunter, Clemson
Susan Jackson, Charlotte, NC
Heather Jones, Greenwood
Danny Kassis, Charleston
Greg Kenrick, Clark Hill
Tom LaRoche, Johns Island
Ronnie Lee, Aiken
David Lockwood, Columbia
Luke Mabry, Aiken
Kaki MacLain, Charlotte, NC
Lauran McCarter, Hopkins
Angie Mettlen, Clemson
Gregg Morton, Clemson
David Murdaugh, Dumfries, VA
Hank Owen Jr., Clover
Phil Perry, Saluda
John Pettigrew, Edgefield
Lee Prickett, Greenville
Sheila Quinn, Lake Wylie
Tim J. Reed, Greenville
Thomas Rhodes, Columbia
Libby Roof, Gilbert
Rip Sanders, Elgin
Ben Seabrook, Mt. Pleasant
David Seaver, Greenville
Bob Shepard, Charleston
Adrienne Lynn Sienkowski, Atlanta, GA
Greg Smith, Six Mile
Rilo Stephens, Atlanta, GA
Evans Tindal, Cheraw
Roger J. Troutman, Rock Hill
Jim Vaughn, Greenville
Allen Ward, Bluffton
Sam White Jr., Greenville
Bert Wilkins, Greenville
Susan Wilkins, Greenville
Babs Wilson, Woodruff
Maggie Worsham, Clemson
Joy Yonce, Charleston